PDA

View Full Version : How to get self-etching primer safely off plexiglass?

armchairdetail
10-19-2023, 02:06 PM
What should I use to get dozens of specs of black self-etching primer off curved plexiglass? Would a micro polisher with wool pad and Farcela G360 Super Fast Compound work? Should I try using K-Clear 707? What speed should I run at? Any good videos I should watch if I’ve never used a rotary buffer before?

Also, aside from getting the specs of primer off, there`s also deep scratches I want to try to remove. Does anyone know of any good videos that explain how to wet sand plexiglass to remove deep scratches caused by something like a flathead screwdriver?

Thanks in advance for the help!

wannafbody
10-19-2023, 09:10 PM
I`d try a plastic polish first. Might not cut it though.

armchairdetail
10-20-2023, 07:42 PM
I`d try a plastic polish first. Might not cut it though.

Yeah, it`s on there really tough and the plastic polish won`t cut it.

Stokdgs
10-20-2023, 11:18 PM
I would research and find who makes plexiglass parts and ask them how to remove primer off of it...
Dan F

Dan
10-22-2023, 11:08 AM
Do the specs come off with your finger nail? Do you know the brand of paint?

armchairdetail
10-22-2023, 08:09 PM
Do the specs come off with your finger nail? Do you know the brand of paint?
They do not come off with fingernail, not even with a plastic scraper unless you press so hard that you scratch the plexiglass. I do not know the brand of paint sadly and cannot reach the guy who screwed up on it.

Ron Ketcham
10-23-2023, 12:29 PM
Carrier solvent of the paint has resulted in the plexiglass surface being slightly "melted", so it is now part of plex.

Lonnie
10-24-2023, 01:09 PM
I think Ron Ketcham has "diagnosed" your problem and it is a dilemma and, quite frankly, there are no easy fixes to your curved plexiglass part.
What I and the rest of us do not know is:
1) How big this plexiglass part is, and,