PDA

View Full Version : Pressure Washing Advice Please

Pages : [1] 2 3

Fishing
02-26-2019, 08:37 PM
I have never used a pressure washer on a car before. After reading here I am going to give it a try. I was planning on using it as a first step to remove the heavier dirt/salt from the paint and wheel wells. What type of things should I be cautious of doing ? It is 3100 psi and I was planning on using the general purpose ( medium ) spray tip. Thank you for any advice.

nickfire20
02-26-2019, 08:39 PM
That seems like pretty high pressure, think most of us use ones under 2000. Check out youtube OBSESSED GARAGE. Check him out!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Stokdgs
02-26-2019, 09:01 PM
I have never used a pressure washer on a car before. After reading here I am going to give it a try. I was planning on using it as a first step to remove the heavier dirt/salt from the paint and wheel wells. What type of things should I be cautious of doing ? It is 3100 psi and I was planning on using the general purpose ( medium ) spray tip. Thank you for any advice.

Fishing,
Great that you are going to use a pressure washer!!

I have been using one for decades for all kinds of things like washing down entire houses prior to Painting them, sidewalks, driveways, engines and the compartments, and of course, a zillion vehicles..

Question for you - how many gallons per minute (gpm) does that pressure washer make? I think it may be putting out at least or more than 2.5 gpm..

What is the total length of the gun from the back of it to the end of the tip??
If it`s really short, you are going to get wet from the spray bouncing back, if too long, its harder to see what you are doing up close..

I use mine like I would be - Painting - that line as I go back and forth across it, then move down another line, and repeat..

Regarding the different Tips that can be used on a pressure washer, I only use the widest - Fan Tip - on everything I noted above..