PDA

View Full Version : Thought I wanted to be an Auto Detailer - Wndows Scratched Please Help

Pages : [1] 2 3

bburdette
08-01-2017, 09:26 AM
Hi Guys,
I am very new to auto detailing and possibly wanted to start a business. I wanted first to detail my own vehicle to see how hard the work was, to get some experience and to see how long it would take. I detailed my Ram 1500 quad cab truck this past weekend. I washed it, clayed it, compound, polished and waxed it. Also done the tires and wheels, chrome, and all the plastic trim. I done it all by hand. It took two full days, man was I tired. Now, I am thinking twice about starting a business. Anyway, everything looks great, but the windshield and glass. I cleaned it with clay, compound and window cleaner. At the time it looked good. But as soon as the sun shined through it, it has a white haze that I can`t get out. Did I mess up by using compound? Do I need to go back and polish it? I have tried all kinds of cleaner and alcohol and nothing works. Must be fine scratches left by the compound. Can anyone please tell me what I need to do? Thanks

nickclark08
08-01-2017, 10:39 AM
sounds like it could be haze from the compounding step. Try going over it with the polish and see if that helps. if not:

There is some glass-specific polish out there, has cerium oxide. There were some threads a while back, try doing a search and you should find some more info and "how to" posts.

EdLancer
08-01-2017, 10:46 AM
Hi Guys,