PDA

View Full Version : Cquartz Dlux peeling

Pages : [1] 2 3

usernameunknown
10-11-2015, 07:38 PM
Like the topic states, I applied Cquartz Dlux on some textured pieces on my F150 a couple months ago and now it looks to be peeling off(lil clear flakes). Has anyone experienced this? Any suggestions on how to remove it and start over,?......I`ve tried APC/MF, Dawn/mr clean sponge and mild to aggressive polish to no avail....sorry for the crappy pic its a lil dark outside

http://www.autopia.org/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=28888&stc=1

Paintxpert
10-11-2015, 07:50 PM
That looks to be the cowel area right? I stripped and painted these for a client at the beginning of the Summer. Used black Satin rustoleum. Worked like a charm. Clean thoroughly with alcohol. If your not handy with a spray can then don`t try it. You will make a mess. I have been painting plastic trim for around 30 years. Its a great money maker! I charge 135.00 to paint the cowel trim. Chevys have an over abundance of plastic on their trucks also. When painting plastic, its all about the prep. Several light coats to avoid runs is the rule of thumb. Good luck!

allenk4
10-11-2015, 08:09 PM
What prep was done before application of DLUX?

usernameunknown
10-11-2015, 08:49 PM
What prep was done before application of DLUX?

Cleaned with Meg APC and left to dry over night, then wiped down with IPA prior to applying Dlux. I`ve used Dlux before with great results

Mike lambert
10-11-2015, 08:57 PM
I have had this happen a few times, scrubbed with apc and a mild scuff pad, washed and wiped with Gyeon prep. Put Gyeon trim on and after almost a year no problems.

RaysWay
10-11-2015, 09:14 PM
That looks really strange and I`ve never seen that before. Was the surface perfectly clean before it was applied? It looks almost like polish residue on the triim, the rubber seal to the right, and the glass? Any way we can get more and better pics with better lighting when the trim is dry?

usernameunknown