PDA

View Full Version : Clay alternative and lube?

Pages : [1] 2

AAEzra
09-13-2015, 12:56 AM
First post and hope this is in the right category as I am a beginner. I got some meguires clay bar kit I bought like 10 years ago i think and it`s just smearing all over the place on what seems to be very rough paint. So I`m looking into a nano skin product. I`m looking at the sponges be of cost but considering the mitt be it can follow body contures. What`s a good lube for this stuff? Better question what are you guys using? Is the nano skin glide the stuff to get or use the washles/rinse less stuff? Thanks

Migue
09-13-2015, 01:00 AM
I went from Clay to Nano Skin sponges and haven`t looked back. I still keep clay in my arsenal just in case, but have not had the need to use it ever since i got the sponges. I use their Nano Skin Glide as lube if i`m going for a decon followed by LSP without polishing(testing a small spot first to ensure no marring) . If i`m polishing after, i use the same soapy water from my wash bucket and it has worked for me. This is just based on my own personal experience, others will advise eventually and you can decide from there.

Welcome to the forum, great place to learn lots of things.

The Guz
09-13-2015, 04:19 AM
I have a nanoskin fine grade sponge and although it works well, I still pick up more with a clay. So I still use clay on my personal cars.

I use Meguiar`s D155 Last Touch with a clay bar and the sponge.

silverfox
09-13-2015, 05:08 AM
If you want the best claying result, there`s no substitute for the real deal. Faster isn`t always better, especially if you`re not on the customer`s clock.

pwaug
09-13-2015, 07:04 AM
I`ve switched to the Nanoskin Sponge using Ultima Waterless Wash+ as a lube (at the waterless dilution) and have had great results. Use it after IronX and have had no marring. The UWW+ is also my go to rinseless wash now so I`ve eliminated having to buy 3 products with just 1.

ShawnF350
09-13-2015, 07:58 AM