PDA

View Full Version : Coatings

Pages : [1] 2

ShakingHorizons
07-13-2015, 08:49 PM
I am new to the whole "coating" part of detailing so I need some assistance. I primarily use Zaino for detailing as it has served me very well over the years, but I do not see a sealant listed on their website (I don`t believe Z-CS is a true sealant). Based off of the searching I have done I have come up with the following -

Optimum Gloss-Coat Paint Coating
Chemical Guys Jetseal 109
Four Star Ultimate Paint Protection

I am looking for something that is relativity easy to apply and remove, as well as protect the paint from bird bombs, automatic car washes, etc for at least a year at a time.

I don`t know anything about the above products, other than some say Four Star UPP doesn`t play well with some coatings. Thanks in advance!

(I accidentally used the term "sealant" in a prior thread, so I started a new with with the correct terminology.)

This is the thread that got me interested -
http://www.autopia.org/forums/car-detailing-product-discussion/157479-grand-finale-optimum-opti-coating-durability-test-review.html?highlight=finale

BTW, this isn`t for my own vehicle, but rather family members that live too far away to complete maintenance details, and I can`t talk them out of going through swirl-o-matics.

Mike lambert
07-13-2015, 08:56 PM
Take a look at Kamakaze products. Very easy, and very durable

Thomas Dekany
07-13-2015, 09:35 PM
Out of the 3 only listed, only Gloss Coat will prevent bird poop from etching the clear. Car washes with brushes will abrade ANY coating away over time. Even Opti Coat Pro.

52split
07-14-2015, 08:01 AM
Optimum Gloss is the best as far as ease of use, shine, etc....going on close to a year on my car and looks just as good as day one....

https://youtu.be/EREv5ldz6rE

EREv5ldz6rE

ShakingHorizons
07-14-2015, 09:31 AM
Thanks for the replies everyone!

FYI - I am not stuck on those 3, I am open to options!

XxBoostinxX
07-14-2015, 09:38 AM