PDA

View Full Version : New Polisher? Which one to choose?

Pages : [1] 2 3

kylemstn
01-06-2015, 08:13 PM
As the title explains I`m looking to invest in a polisher come spring and with so many options and factors I would like some second opinions. By any means I am not a professional detailer or have my own business, I guess I would fall into the category of the "Weekend Warrior." Every now and then I do correct cars other than my own for profit, (Neighbours & Family Members.)

I am focussed on either getting a GG6" or Rupes 5" with the 15mm throw. My only worry is that both machines may be to big to compound and polish the average car (Jetta, Civic, etc.) Budget wise I`m stuck at the Rupes cost and nothing more...

Would you guys suggest me going for:
A: Rupes.
B: The GG6" and adding a 3" backing plate if possible.
C: Lastly buying both the GG6" and GG3".
(Or suggest another combo?)

I`m sort of worried about getting the GG3" machine as I`ve heard there is hardly any power for cutting?

Again I understand this is a very general topic, I tried narrowing down specifics however if you have any other questions please ask!

Thanks in advance everybody!

jsou
01-06-2015, 08:18 PM
For a weekend warrior, I would take a trip to your local Harbor Freight and grab their DA for about $60 or less. You may then order yourself 5" & 3" Backing plates from the online resource of your choice. This option will free up more money for products, pads, etc.

Just my honest opinion.

kylemstn
01-06-2015, 08:37 PM
Live in Canada and don`t have access to Harbor Freight, thanks for your feedback!

jsou
01-06-2015, 08:57 PM
Ah, bummer. Adopt the same concept with the GG6.

I would say get the Rupes but just wondering how you will tackle the tighter/smaller panels with only one machine? You can always correct those areas by hand but I find it more efficient with the correct pad size and via machine.

kylemstn
01-06-2015, 09:22 PM