PDA

View Full Version : hi, new to detailing, kinda.

nujav
12-12-2014, 07:09 AM
hi all, some what noob here, i own a porter cable and jet black m3 that i am working on. so far i`ve done half of the car and very happy with the outcome... moving on to the back of the car soon which has 4-5 parking sensors, at this point im not sure if i should polish up the parking sensors, or should i tape them up? 1 of the parking sensor looks discolored, i think maybe hand polish this sensor up and it shall match up like the other sensors... what do you guys think? is it safe to polish the parking sensor?

RaysWay
12-12-2014, 09:45 AM
Welcome to Autopia! Have any pics?

GearHead_1
12-12-2014, 11:16 AM
Welcome to Autopia.

Stokdgs
12-12-2014, 12:47 PM
I just gently clean the parking sensors and never polish because they are sensitive and located in the bumper.. Then I may tape them so nothing accidentally hits them..

They are plastic, so use something that is easy on that film, ok ?
Dan F

tropicsteve
12-12-2014, 01:39 PM
welcome to AF. what kind of products are you using?

nujav
12-13-2014, 02:59 AM
thanks for the info on the sensor, i have no pics, my camera is not that great and the garage im working in has crappy lighting plus its filled with junk and its a really tight space i have to work in..

products i`m using are
wash - meguiars gold class and optimum no rinse
claybar - meguiars clay kit
compounds - m105/m205, mainly only using m205 for the whole car
wax - acrylic werkstat jett trigger sealant
pads - b&s black pad for finishing or polish, i forgot i`m not sure which one it is

i think thats all of it, i may have forgotten some stuff

man this work is tough, i`ve spent quite a lot of time on this and i`m still not finished lol.. but hey its fun, except for the prep work lol

right now i think ill go with a wash and wax next time for washing... this way i never have to wax again right??

Angus
12-13-2014, 05:24 AM
Welcome!

Pats300zx
12-13-2014, 07:34 AM