PDA

View Full Version : It seems there's more to drying than I thought...

dmath
06-14-2014, 08:44 PM
I`m a newb here. I`ve been reading posts for a week or so and am overwhelmed by the amount of information (and the number of acronyms, lol). I`ve learned a lot already - thanks.

One of the things I`ve learned is that drying is far more complicated than I imagined. I guess before I get to my questions, I should explain a few things. First, I am far from a pro. I`m just a guy who likes to take care of his cars. I have a reasonable kit of products chosen from the DetailersDomain menu (hand products only - if/when I need polisher work, I`ll visit one of you guys). I recently applied Sonax Polymer Net Shield and am VERY happy with the result. Great depth and water beads and runs off beautifully. To "enhance" the PNS, I use Sonax Brilliant Shine Detail Spray.

I`ve read a number of posts here that mention a couple of drying techniques I`ve never tried: using a QD and using a compressor. I just use a good MF drying towel. Finally, my questions.

1. When using a compressor for drying, do you use it on body panels or just in crevices, etc? If on body panels, what kind of attachment/nozzle do you use? Any tips for compressor drying appreciated.

2. If not using a compressor to dry, where does the QD come in? Do you partially dry first or use it when the car is still fully wet? Do you ever apply QD after the car is dry if you`ve just used it when drying the car?

Thank you in advance for your help. I look forward to your replies and to following other threads. This seems like a great community.

David

pwaug
06-15-2014, 06:58 AM
Welcome to Autopia!!

`