PDA

View Full Version : Firefox on Mac: No forums/posts



Pages : [1] 2

C. Charles Hahn
10-21-2013, 07:09 PM
I am able to log in with Firefox, but cannot see any forums/posts/etc. -- only the site header shows up.

imported_admin
10-21-2013, 07:11 PM
Charles,


What version of firefox are you using and do you have any plug ins?

imported_admin
10-21-2013, 07:12 PM
Also, do you see a generic header or the autopia header?

C. Charles Hahn
10-21-2013, 07:15 PM
It is the Autopia header; I am using FF 25.0 beta 8; no plugins active.

imported_admin
10-21-2013, 07:20 PM
Any chance you have a different Mac with FF 24 or lower. Dont know anyone that uses Macs to test or replicate this on. :(

C. Charles Hahn
10-21-2013, 07:24 PM
Any chance you have a different Mac with FF 24 or lower. Dont know anyone that uses Macs to test or replicate this on. :(



`


I`ll see what I can do.

C. Charles Hahn
10-21-2013, 07:33 PM
<span><span>Just noticed a slightly bigger issue... no posts older than October 26, 2012 appear to have transferred to the new software. Which means all of my old write-ups are gone.

<span>Also I am seeing the same thing as Ken Allwine (`https://www.facebook.com/kenallwine`)<span> in some threads -- some pics changed back to being links.

C. Charles Hahn
10-21-2013, 07:43 PM
Correction -- the threads transferred, but do not show up in the search function.

imported_admin
10-21-2013, 07:59 PM
It appears old posts are there, just not linked to the user. Will have to look into it.


`


Found a post from 2001


`


http://www.autopia.org/forum/index.php?/topic/2204-if-you-like-303-then-try/?hl=%2Banyway%2C+%2Bapplicators+%2Bthis+%2Blink+%2 Bhttp%3Aautopia-carcare.comauhaap.html (`http://www.autopia.org/forum/index.php?/topic/2204-if-you-like-303-then-try/?hl=%2Banyway%2C+%2Bapplicators+%2Bthis+%2Blink+%2 Bhttp%3Aautopia-carcare.comauhaap.html`)

C. Charles Hahn
10-21-2013, 08:09 PM
I see that you changed the "max pics" to 50; unfortunately it doesn`t appear to have fixed the problem in existing threads. Example:


`


http://www.autopia.org/forum/index.php?/topic/131314-07-ferrari-f430-06-mercedes-benz-sl55-amg-22ple-opti-glass-pro/ (`http://www.autopia.org/forum/index.php?/topic/131314-07-ferrari-f430-06-mercedes-benz-sl55-amg-22ple-opti-glass-pro/`)

imported_admin
10-21-2013, 08:12 PM
It is kind of conveluted, but you can find your posts with an advanced search of the forums.


`


Select Advanced Search (Cog image next to search bar)


`


Click Forums.


`


Find Author: C. Charles Hahn


`


Date Range Put in a one year date range. Can manualy put dates before 2007. (Appears it limits to 8 pages worth of posts so maybe do one year to find all in that year)


`


Find in: shift or cntrl click to get each forum.



Then Search.

imported_admin
10-21-2013, 08:13 PM
I see that you changed the "max pics" to 50; unfortunately it doesn`t appear to have fixed the problem in existing threads. Example:


`


http://www.autopia.org/forum/index.php?/topic/131314-07-ferrari-f430-06-mercedes-benz-sl55-amg-22ple-opti-glass-pro/ (`http://www.autopia.org/forum/index.php?/topic/131314-07-ferrari-f430-06-mercedes-benz-sl55-amg-22ple-opti-glass-pro/`)



`


May have to reindex the forum for them to show.

Bill D
10-22-2013, 05:10 PM
I cant see forum posts using Firefox either. I have to use IE or Safari in order to read the forum.

JohnZ3MC
10-23-2013, 11:28 PM
I`m in the same boat as Bill D.` IE shows the site properly, Firefox, my usual browser shows a black main window.` Nothing ever shows in it either.` Firefox 24.0


Any tweaks I can do to Firefox to make it show the site normally?` The OS is Win 7 Ultimate, 64 bit, video card is Nvidia` Geforce GTX 260.


With firefox, I`ve tried various screen resolutions and nothing corrects the black display area window.


`


Edit:` I tried starting Firefox in safe mode.` (hold down the shift key and double click the firefox icon) and the display window showed all content.` Normal functioning.` Now I have to figure out which addon is causing the no-show issue.


`


Another edit:` The offending addon was my favourite (Canadian spelling) - "Adblock Plus".` Easy to disable and enable but now the ads on the side are back.` Foiled again.

Bill D
10-24-2013, 09:18 AM
John, thanks for that info. I disabled Adblock and can now see the forum. I guess i wont mind the ads.