PDA

View Full Version : Need Agressive Clay For New Car...

jmsc
03-31-2013, 10:23 AM
Tried 3X`s using Zaino red clay (mild-medium) and Opti-Eraser (mild) + Z6 on hood of brand new car. In 10 years of detailing under autopia I have never come across such persistent grittiness. I have removed about 75% of the contaminants. I have never used any aggressive clay before.

Will meguiar`s aggressive clay or Opti-Eraser aggressive do the final 25%?

Anyone been thru this before?

C. Charles Hahn
03-31-2013, 10:43 AM
It`s always worth a shot with Meguiar`s red clay, or Clay Magic red.

In lieu of those you might instead want to look into a decontamination system like ValuGard ABC to break down whatever the contaminants are so they will release; another good choice might be some very fine grit sandpaper like 4000-grit MicroMesh or even 5000 grit 3M Trizact.

togwt
03-31-2013, 10:46 AM
Given that some contaminant residue (acid rain, industrial fallout, sintered brake or rail dust) are usually highly acidic and / or will permeate a paint surface, it makes far more sense to remove them chemically and neutralize the paint surface rather than by using an abrasive clay or polish, as dissolving them using a paint decontamination system and then rinsing them away virtually eliminates the risk of causing surface damage

TOGWT® Autopia Detailing Wiki - “ValuGard Paint Decontamination System†- http://www.autopia.org/forum/autopia-detailing-wiki/141242-valugard-paint-decontamination-system.html

If you have any questions about this article or the techniques used, please let me know or feel free to send me a PM

Accumulator
03-31-2013, 11:55 AM
One more vote for ABC! I wouldn`t want to scrub a new car with an abrasive clay if I could merely "wash off" the contamination instead. This one sounds like it will probably require some mechanical agitation while the "A" and/or "B" are dwelling though.

jmsc
03-31-2013, 12:29 PM
Thanks.