PDA

View Full Version : New to detailing. Please advise =)

03concorde
03-25-2013, 10:13 PM
For the first time, I have a car I like enough to do more than washing. My car, which I`ve now owned for 6 months, is a 9 year old luxury sedan with black leather interior and very dark red metallic paint. Almost purple in color. The older couple who previously owned it, while performing impeccable maintenance, obviously were content with keeping it clean via automatic car washes. This shows when I was the car -- it looks clean & "shiny" from 5 feet away. But up close? Swirl marks galore & it lacks any type of depth to the shine -- no glossiness or "wet" appearance at all to the paint.

It is my new goal to correct this. I have never used an electronic buffer before, but I bought one today to do this. It`s a 6" small rotary, which I figured would be enough if I`m just doing my car. I only have this car, and I will probably only use the buffer 3-4 times a year for waxing once the paint is corrected.

Here is the list of things I purchased for detailing the car and making the paint glossy and beautiful again. Please tell me if I should return any products, or if I need to add something to my inventory to effectively detail the paint.

1) Several microfiber cleaning towels (small, good for wiping up dried wax, etc.)

2) 2 LARGE microfiber drying towels

3) 1 LARGE, very soft (chamois?) drying towel

4) Tire shine applicator, which is the only way I`ve ever been able to successfully apply tire shine. Mostly concerned with paint here, though. Megs HOT SHINE for tire product.

5) Very soft, I believe wool or similar wash mit

6) TWO buckets, which I will use to begin doing hand washes with a soapy water & clean water bucket to rinse mitt before returning to soap mixture.

...in addition to the buffer, I purchased 4 terry cloth bonnets, 1 wool bonnet, and 2 microfiber bonnets.

Products:

1) Megs Deep Crystal wash concentrate

2) Megs clay bar system with Quik Detailer