PDA

View Full Version : Hose water or waterless for the new guy

Bill Cahill
09-24-2012, 11:52 PM
A little background. I have a classic Porsche , 1968. It`s paint job is a year old and it`s not perfect, but I want to keep it looking good. I am very new to cleaning cars.

I have been told to never ever use straight hose water. So I have been afraid to give it a regular wash. I have hired a detailer from time to time that brings his own water, but I can`t afford that. I also don`t want to invest in a water filtering system. I don`t think my water is bad, I am in Los Angeles and it isn`t particularly hard. My question is. Is it better to use regular water and give the car a real wash, or to use a waterless product?

My car is always garaged, driven once a week.

Any suggestions?

kakeuter
09-25-2012, 11:12 AM
Sounds like your car doesn`t exactly get filthy, so I think you would be perfectly safe with an ONR (Optimum No Rinse) wash. The product will soften the water up a little and does not sit on the vehicle for extended periods of time, so you shouldn`t have to worry about water spots.

-Kody-

Accumulator
09-25-2012, 11:18 AM
Bill Cahill- Welcome to Autopia! Sounds like a cool car :xyxthumbs

Opinions vary on the waterless/rinseless vs. conventional wash issue (I go with the latter), but unless your water is really nasty I can`t imagine any reason why "hose water" wouldn`t be good enough. Gee, should I put "good enough" in scare-quotes :think: Nah....I washed with regular/untreated municipal water for decades with no issues other than a few waterspots when I failed to get the vehicle completely dry (which usually cleaned off with a spritz of Quick Detailer).

Yeah, these days I use double-filtered and softened water, and my water is good and relatively soft to begin with. But I`m prone to overkill on this stuff and friends with the *exact* same water use it straight from the tap with no problems (and think I`m nuts to bother treating it).