PDA

View Full Version : Help, I don`t know what I`m doing..

Pages : [1] 2 3

Callmealunatic
08-17-2012, 01:42 PM
I am new to this detailing. The way I was taught you washed your car with dish soap & then maybe waxed it. I thought clay barring was actually a paste & was amused to find out it was actually exactly what it was called lol. Everything I`ve recently learned has been from this site. I`ve spent the past wk & a half reading & reading & reading.

I just got a 2006 manaual transmission Honda civic coupe with 112000 miles on it the Interior is in pretty amazing condition but the outside not so much it had wax all over the trim which was my first indication it wasn`t cared for properly. I used peanut butter can got all of the trim clean of wax & then used the turtle trim restoring stuff. I`m pleased with it. My question come to the paint. I washed it & then clay barred it with the

meguiars clay bar kit which I got from Walmart. I used that on the good until I wasn`t getting any discolor on the clay. Then I got Meguires compound which was in a black bottle, it was liquid. Used that ... Then waxed with mothers wax the mothers carnauba wax.... Waited a full day & then a sec coat of that. I did the same processes on my front bumper & the roof.

My car isn`t as shiney as I`d like it to be. I want it to have a deep smooth shine ...

I did the all by hand btw.

Tell me what I did wrong or need to do or is it because indie it by hand & not a machine?

I am a female btw so please try not to confuse me ..

Callmealunatic
08-17-2012, 01:43 PM
Hood not good. Sorry typo.. Posting from my phone

Alexshimshimhae
08-17-2012, 01:48 PM
well it`s hard to say..but working by hand almost always (99.9%) will result in less than stellar results...assuming there`s nothing terrible wrong with the paint (thought at 112k miles who knows) using a dual action (DA) polisher might do you a whole lot of good..if you are doing it by hand finding a good cleaner might also help your cause.