PDA

View Full Version : How abrasive of a polish can I use with this color and condition?

dezau
03-18-2012, 03:55 PM
http://i.imgur.com/mqaeDh.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/vqITAh.jpg

Complete noob to poslishing here. Last time I detailed my car, I didn`t use any polishing products, just used a clay bar and 3 layers of NXT 2.0.

This time however, I`m convinced that I might need some polishing, I don`t know how abrasive should I go before I start burning or ruining my paint though. Advices please.

I"ll be using a dual action orbital polisher with it.

Any advice would be welcomed too. Thanks.

I would prefer something that could be bought on amazon, since i have free 2 days shipping with it.

So far I`ve looked at meguiar`s ultimate compound, ultimate polish, swirlx...

togwt
03-18-2012, 06:37 PM
Select a ‘typical’ panel; one that represents the type of defects that you want to remove and the finish level required. Select an area of 18 x 18-inches and tape it off with painter’s tape, as this is an optimal working section to perform a product test spot; this will help establish a polish – pad combination that will produce the best possible finish that corresponds to your detailing goals for the vehicle. Pay attention to how the paint is responding to your inputs. Stop and evaluate your progress, once this is established; repeat the process over the entire paint surface, adjusting abrasiveness for any low paint thickness.

There may be some areas that have deeper scratches, which will necessitate a more abrasive polish. This is known a ‘spot-correction’. Once this area(s) are completed revert to the original polish / pad combination, there is no need to remove any more clear coat than is necessary

dezau
03-18-2012, 07:46 PM
So what kinda polish should i be looking at getting?

dezau
03-18-2012, 10:55 PM
Anyone?~~~

Darkstar752
03-18-2012, 11:01 PM