PDA

View Full Version : 2012 Audi A4 Pearl Black

Detail Newbie
03-16-2012, 12:21 PM
Hi guys. I have zero detailing experience. After getting the new car, I thought I`d pay attention and invest on car car products. Hoping for some help filling in some holes here. Here`s what I have right now:

a) Adams two-bucket grit guard system;

b) Adams large and small wash pads;

c) Adams car shampoo;

d) Adams VRT;

e) Adams clay and detail spray;

f) Adams all purpose cleaner;

g) Adams brilliant glaze and americana wax;

h) Sonax full wheel cleaner;

i) Griot`s Garage dual orbital polisher along with all the uber pads in the attached:http://www.detailersdomain.com/Griots-Garage-6-inch-Random-Orbital-Polisher-Base-Kit_p_683.html

j) 2 Adams waffle weave drying towel;

k) 2 single soft MF towels;

l) one double soft MF towel;

I`m guessing I need some polish and paint sealant right? Is there any products you can recommend? I`m not partial to Adams. It just seemed like the products are user friendly but I`m willing to look at others that are effective and newbie friendly.

Am I missing anything else for external care? BTW this is my daily driver.

Thanks.

Detail Newbie
03-16-2012, 12:30 PM
Oh and BTW the dealers put in some platinum paint protection...i think it`s a wax and sealant combo.

Detail Newbie
03-16-2012, 08:30 PM
help anyone?

Darkstar752
03-16-2012, 08:56 PM
Oh and BTW the dealers put in some platinum paint protection...i think it`s a wax and sealant combo.

The dealership is detailing it before you get it? That`s likely not good news, watch out for holograms. It is possible they will do it properly, but more often than not it`s bad. I would instruct them to do nothing to the car if you plan on detailing it yourself.