PDA

View Full Version : New Guy with a Quick Question: Help Me ID What This Paint Defect Is Please!

zhp43867
12-31-2011, 06:51 PM
Hello, I have been detailing seriously for a few years, and I`ve read many great post and reviews here, but I haven`t registered until now.

I just have a very quick question for the experts out there. I am giving my mom a complementary detailing of her car, and just finished with my clay-ing and Iron-X.

The vehicle is a 2009 BMW 328i if it matters.

It had body work last year on the side of the car where this defect is. I am wondering if this is maybe bad finish work, or a sign of failing or thin clear coat/something else. I captured it as best I could!

It is a very vague area when you see it with your eye, where there is not much reflection.

If it is a problem with the body work or thin clear coat, I don`t want to take my buffer out and make it worse before seeing the body shop.

Cliffs: What is wrong with this paint?

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/684/photo3ft.jpg

http://img818.imageshack.us/img818/102/photo2amq.jpg

http://img849.imageshack.us/img849/4739/photo1svw.jpg

Nth Degree
12-31-2011, 06:58 PM
Hard to tell just from the photos whether it was just bad finishing or poor paint. Looks like uneven coverage either from paint mix not leveling or shrinkage. Could probably be wet-sanded, but you are right to take it back to the shop that did the work and ask them. At least that way if they cause a bigger problem they are responsible for fixing it... again.

zhp43867
12-31-2011, 07:22 PM
Thanks for the very prompt response. Here are a couple pictures with my real camera, maybe they will help a little with deciding what it is. I`d really rather avoid the body shop if possible!

http://img847.imageshack.us/img847/2880/p1060149r.jpg

http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/9927/p1060150s.jpg

http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/3985/p1060147s.jpg

JohnKleven
12-31-2011, 09:20 PM
Looks like poor repaint and possible blend line.

Rafi