PDA

View Full Version : Questions about this Buffer

Pages : [1] 2

bschaef95
12-13-2011, 11:47 AM
Hey guys, I`m new here and am totally loving it! I am going to be getting an orbital buffer here in the next few weeks. I am just looking to apply wax (Mothers Carnauba) and some light duty polishing before I wax. I am a total noob at machine waxing, so that`s why I am going for an orbital. I have been considering this one 10 in. Orbital Buffer-RB101 at The Home Depot (http://bit.ly/t7Jb1J) I know its not a pro choice or anything, but I really am not looking for Dave Fermani results on my car. My questions are these: first, will it handle my light duty use? Second, can I get different pads, as people say that the ones that come with it blow? Lastly, what polishing compound should I use? Thanks a ton, for I am a humble noob among the gods of auto detailing!

Accumulator
12-13-2011, 12:17 PM
bschaef95- Welcome to Autopia!

Those 10" RO buffers are tempting, huh? Low price, look like they`ll cover a lot of area nice and quickly....

But..there`s always a "but..." with `em. A few actually- they don`t have the power to do much of anything significant. No, you don`t need to be after Fermani-level correction to discover the unit`s deficiencies..it just doesn`t have the oomph to properly work products, let alone with a big pad like that creating lots of friction.

Also, the choice of pads/bonnets is exteremely limited, and most of what`s available is more likely to do harm than good.

Sigh...it`s just not worth buying. Really. Those things get sold...or given as gifts...used once, and then they sit around the garage for years untouched until there`s a garage sale or something.

Save up the $30, it`s a big chunk of the cost of a truly worthwhile polisher, especially if you buy used.