PDA

View Full Version : Any smokers?

Pages : [1] 2

PowerHaus930
12-03-2011, 01:25 AM
I am new to detailing and I was wondering if anyone here smokes in their car? How do you keep the windows clean? I recently cleaned my windows with vinegar/water solution and I thought they came out pretty good until it was cold one night and my windows fogged up showing all the streaks left behind :wall. I always wind down all of my windows when I smoke to keep the car from stinking. A few days after I washed my windows I started seeing these vertical streaks/smears from the windows going up and down frequently. Every car I have had gets those streaks eventually no matter how good I clean the windows. Has anyone else seen this? Could that be from the smoke or possibly the vinegar/water mix? Would it help if I cleaned the small weatherstrip at the bottom of the window? What is a good OTC product to get windows streak-free? I really hate these streaks so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Dan
12-03-2011, 08:36 AM
I can`t give you advice based on smoking, but for tough window film...

OTC: Invisible Glass

Not so OTC: Meguiar`s Detailer Line

Bill D
12-03-2011, 11:48 AM
Meguiar`s Glass Cleaner D120 is my favorite product I tried this year!

Scottwax
12-03-2011, 11:56 AM
I use Optimum No Rinse at QD strength and 530 gram 16 x 16 microfiber towels to clean glass in my customer`s cars. Works fine even in smokers cars.

Best advice though, stop smoking! If it is leaving a film like that on your glass from you exhaling the smoke, imagine what drawing it into your lungs is doing. Oh yeah, rolling the windows down isn`t keeping the car from stinking inside. ;)

wascallyrabbit
12-03-2011, 12:33 PM
aside from the fore mentioned 3d 50:1 glass cleaner. can`t decide if i like the megs d120 or the 3d 50:1 better, but i do like both better than stoners ig.

Lonnie
12-04-2011, 10:34 AM