PDA

View Full Version : New 2012 Sorento SX Black

nvous23
08-17-2011, 01:37 PM
Newbie here, Me and the woman picked up a 2012 Sorento SX in Black. Unfortunately I was not able to prevent the dealership from doing any prep but the paint does not have any flaws at all from what I have seen. I live in Phoenix so protection is a pretty big concern. Can I get a plan of action in order to make this black vehicle look great and protect it from the desert sun? I was thinking about starting with washing it with Dawn to remove anything that the dealer may have applied and then claying and then using opti-seal? Thank you all for your assistance.

Brad B
08-17-2011, 03:31 PM
Welcome!

That sounds like a plan. I assume that the paint has no defects so that no polishing is needed prior to the Opti?

nvous23
08-17-2011, 05:08 PM
Welcome!

That sounds like a plan. I assume that the paint has no defects so that no polishing is needed prior to the Opti?

Correct, I am going to take a closer look tonight to inspect for swirls or marring and go from there.

dschribs
08-17-2011, 07:26 PM
I thought Arizona was like Florida...white cars only!!!!!

if you need a very light polishing, you could use something like Clearkote Vanilla Moose or Meg`s 205 on a finishing pad. That should do the trick.

Correct, I am going to take a closer look tonight to inspect for swirls or marring and go from there.

Don`t take TOO close a look - you can ALWAYS find something on black.

nvous23
08-17-2011, 08:44 PM
I thought Arizona was like Florida...white cars only!!!!!

if you need a very light polishing, you could use something like Clearkote Vanilla Moose or Meg`s 205 on a finishing pad. That should do the trick.

Don`t take TOO close a look - you can ALWAYS find something on black.