PDA

View Full Version : complete noob needs basic advice please

slate
07-26-2011, 09:49 AM
Hi - ive just brought a zymol kit , having owned literally hundreds of cars (i used to be a motor trader) but never having used wax in my life !

last week i washed , dried as usual . Then i used some G3 compound to polish out some scratches and finished these areas with 3M finnesse-it .

I then used HD Cleanse and then applied the wax .

Well after two days i can clearly see the areas i used the compound and finnesse-it on - looks awful!

Should i have polished the whole car with finness-it before using the HDC and wax ?

Would seem odd to me if i should as the HDC is supposed to remove polish isnt it ?

Im finding this whole process very confusing.....when retailing i would just wash,dry and polish -nice and simple !

In addition to the above , i found the zyymol instructions on the wax ridiculously scant . Ive still no idea how i should actually use it - leave it on ? Buff it out? Leave it for half hour then buff with no pressure? Do the hokey cokey and turn around?????

Sorry to seem like a total retard , but ive just realised i am one!

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

`

togwt
07-26-2011, 10:23 AM
HD Cleanse should remove any surface residues, traces of silicone or wax so you are left with a totally clean, bare surface. If you have previously used other car care products and want to start from a totally fresh, clean base - Wash, Clay, Polish, HD Cleanse, Wax/ Sealant

slate
07-26-2011, 11:51 AM
Thanks for your reply - i`ll try it .

Isnt the HDC supposed to do the same as a clay bar though ?

Accumulator
07-26-2011, 12:00 PM
slate- Welcome to Autopia!

Are you working by hand or by machine (electric polisher)? Doing this stuff by hand is *TOUGH* and good results are hard to come by that way.