PDA

View Full Version : Best OTS wax for newbie with white car?

67mike
06-28-2011, 12:04 PM
Hi:

Newbie here.

I recently bought a white car that has a fair share of fine scratches from the previous owner.

I have a "turtle wax" orbital 6" buffer that I tried to get the scratches out with both turtle wax premium white compound and mother`s scratch remover. I have it not bad (think I will do some more work on the hood later).

Any way, I originally waxed it with Meguiar`s NXT version 1.....great shine for 1 day...then...dull....took the nxt back for a refund.

Then I tried the three step mother`s california gold system.....shine is OK.

Someone here recommends Mothers FX for white.....BUT, only the liquid is available locally for me...and I hear it sucks?

I was thinking of ordering up some 845 wax from eshine.....BUT I would much rather just buy a local product instead of waiting for shipping.

What is the BEST off the shelf wax for white cars????

Thanks

Scottwax
06-28-2011, 01:42 PM
I have a feeling you aren`t going to be very happy with OTC products based on your experiences already. If it were my car, I`d order either Optimum Opti-Seal or Collinite 476.

tom p.
06-28-2011, 01:57 PM
Marine supply stores often have the Collinite products, sometimes with a slightly different name.

Some foreign car dealers sell the Collinite 476.

There`s a car parts supply shop on eBay, located in OH, that has really good pricing on Collinite.

TedFred
06-28-2011, 03:06 PM
Try ordering the above deal from 3D. Uno and poxy for $25. Very good deal

SpoolinNoMore
06-28-2011, 03:25 PM
Try ordering the above deal from 3D. Uno and poxy for $25. Very good deal

Good deal indeed, however if you`re really dead set on a good durable OTC wax, Meg`s Ultimate Wax comes in paste and liquid format and is very user-friendly application. It gives it a good glass-like look and has shown pretty durable on a Scion TC that I did a couple months ago.

Dan
06-28-2011, 07:48 PM