PDA

View Full Version : New 2011 BMW Z4 sDrive35is - White on Black - Need Advice

Joe Link
06-01-2011, 04:36 PM
It`s been a few years since I last posted here, back when I was a noob to detailing. Back then I had I purchased a PC 7424, some Lake Country pads, and the Optimum Compound, Polish, and Poli-Seal products. This stuff has lasted and treated me well through the years for whatever vehicle(s) I was driving. However, I just signed the paperwork on a brand new white on black 2011 BMW Z3 sDrive35is, and now I need to step up my car care game.

Considering this car will have new paint which has never been washed, I feel like I have a fresh canvas with which to start and maintain. I still have the PC 7424 and a fair amount of all the products, though they`re years old (do detailing products change or expire over time?). I recently detailed our black 1994 Miata and it seemed the products still worked very well, but I have to think there`s probably something better out there to really get the white paint to the `WOW` level. I also picked up a few Griot`s Garage Starter Kits ($15 each, too cheap to pass up). While I`m guessing the wash soap, clay, vinyl & rubber dressing, and wheel cleaner are fine (right?), I assume there`s something better than the best in show wax. In addition to paint protection I`m also interested in doing what I can to protect the interior.

I plan on washing the car once or twice per week during the summer months, but I really need to develop a routine to keep this looking in tip top shape.

I appreciate any advice you guys have for me :)

http://s2.postimage.org/c7sxglf42/Cosy_Vehicle_Image_CAEO6_SZC.jpg

TedFred
06-02-2011, 07:46 AM