PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum and, as my username suggests, I am a Novice Detailer...

Novice Detailer
02-04-2011, 01:55 AM
I`ve searched online and looked at plenty of forums but haven`t quenched my thirst for information on the best way to get rid of swirls on a black car. I recently purchased a 2010 black vehicle that suffered from 8 months of automotive finish abuse. It has its fair share of horrid swirl marks and I have yet to find a way to get rid of them.

I`ve tried Meguiar`s Swirl X, after a clay bar treatment (by hand), with very, very, little results. Before I go ordering everything I see online, I would like to know what you guys think...

Should I order a Porter Cable 7424xp

If so, which polishing agent is best at getting rid of moderate swirls on a black vehicle?

What pad goes best with the PC and the suggested polishing agent?

And finally, which wax is best on a black car?

As a Novice Detailer I would like to know what the pros think. Any suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated.

BigAl3
02-04-2011, 02:13 AM
:welcome:

pick up the griots garage 6" random orbital (it comes with a lifetime warranty and i would buy it direct so there will be no problems with it`s warranty later down the line), and to start at least with three each of the orange and white flat pads along with a few black as well. the griots comes with a 6" backing plate (you can use 6.5" pads with it), but you may also want to get a 5" and 3.5" DA backing plate as well so you can use 4"-5.5" pads. if you want something OTC that`s a step up from swirlx, pick up the megs ultimate compound and i find that it works well with the DA which is one of it`s intended uses (also by hand as well). megs also just came out with the ultimate polish which would be a good addition to the UC as well...

Griot`s Garage 6" Random Orbital - Griot`s Garage (http://www.griotsgarage.com/product/car+care/car+polishing/orbitals+and+car+polishing+tools/griot%27s+garage+random+orbital.do)