PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs help with using the right Menzerna polish

ars6
12-29-2010, 11:42 PM
This is my first time polishing (porter cable orbital) a car with all these products. This is what I used (in this order):

1. Menzerna super intensive POLISH - cut 3.8

2. Menzerna super FINISH - cut 2.5

3. Menzerna power lock polymer - cut 0

I also bought the Megs M105 compound. I didn`t use it because polishing the car a total of FOUR times in addition to claying would have been way too much work for my first time. But the car could have sure used the M105. Especially the hood.

So here`s where I`m stumped. WHY AM I STOPPING AT THE SUPER FINISH - CUT 2.5??? Shouldn`t I use other polishes to gradually reduce the cuts until I reach...the lightest cut. I bought these products from a prof. and very reputable detailer. He told me what to buy and directed me to proceed with the above products. Common sense tells me that after the Super Finish with cut 2.5 I should use another finish like the Menzerna Final polish with cut 1.0 and then use Menzerna Finishing Glaze with cut 0.5. That`s how I understand it. Someone school me!

Sometimes this prof. uses:

Meg M105

Menzerna super intensive polish cut 3.8

Menzerna final polish cut 1.0

Menzerna power lock polymer.

NOw I`m even more stumped! Why go from cut 3.8 to 1.0? What happened to the in between cuts? WHy not continue and go down to a 0.5 cut before using the sealant?

Wax - As you can see above I didn`t use a wax. I plan to use one the next time I do it. Does the wax go on before the Menzerna POwer Lock Polymer or before? I plan to use one of the Swissvax waxes.

TIA!

Ch96067
12-30-2010, 03:55 AM