PDA

View Full Version : is my list sufficient?

imported_tuffluck
12-05-2010, 03:37 PM
over the holidays i`m going to be polishing/detailing my recently purchased bmw 530i. i have owned a PC for several years and have plenty of experience with my old camaro, but since i did this last on the camaro, new recommended products have surfaced (no surprise). so in a sense, i guess i am kind of a n00b all over again :P

anyway i wanted to post my list of things i plan on using, and if i am leaving anything out i wanted to get some input and have enough time to order and have delivered by the holidays, hence why i am posting this so far in advance.

so far my setup seems pretty simple. my 530i is monaco blue.

1. optimum no rinse to wash

2. mother`s clay

3. wash again

4. orange pad + swirl x 2.0 for medium-heavy swirls (or should i even consider using DACP?)

5. black pad + BFWD

6. all done?

some people have suggested a glaze with BFWD, but others said it isn`t that necessary. any thoughts are welcome. also i`m going to be buying 6 or so pakshak microfiber towels for this whole process. thanks for any help!

2005GTPinMD
12-05-2010, 07:38 PM
What looks great under BFWD is Chemical Guys EZ Creme Glaze. I love using that on my car.

Accumulator
12-06-2010, 12:34 PM
tuffluck- I dunno, I suspect the Swirl-X will be to mind and I don`t much care for DACP/M83. And *IMO* neither one will finish out quite nice enough with an orange pad for you to go right to LSP. FWIW, I don`t think DACP finishes out ready-to-wax period.

I haven`t done any recent-vintage BMWs, but my older ones were *so* hard that even M105/orange was barely sufficient, and I`m not talking about really bad scratches either! Harder than my GM clear, which as you know isn`t exactly soft.

imported_tuffluck
12-06-2010, 07:33 PM