PDA

View Full Version : Is pay decent working as a detailer for an Audi dealership?

sahrcar
10-21-2010, 01:18 AM
I have been detailing cars professionally I guess one can say for about 2 years now. I get paid here and there but cant seem to generate enough business to turn it over into a full time endeavour. Maybe only get a few cars per month Id say. Its nothing about my skills its just that other places nearby want to charge only like $80 and get people out in just an hour or less so the speed thing is attracting many people and even when I try to drum up business some "friend" nearby will chime in about that too how Im slower than other places. Im a one man show vs. a team of 5+ so of course Im going to be a bit slower timewise. The jobs I have obtained though have been wowed at my results. I need a steady source of income right now and benefits would be nice too. The local Audi dealership is hiring and they seemed impressed when I went in to inquire about their job listing ad. I know the pay wont be as high as Id make solo since Im charging about $40/hr but how much does one actually make as a detailer at a dealership? Is it a good work experience or are you just using crappy supplies all day and gotta rush through everything?

08Sunburst
10-21-2010, 07:47 AM
I can only speak from the experience that i have, but, the dealer i work at normally sends cars out to be detailed. Granted, i work at a family owned dealer that is very small(4 people work there including myself). But for the price we pay for a "detail" its not worth the time for me to spend a day or two on one car.

The cleaning and detailing i do-do at the dealer, is mostly using crap products and done quickly.

For example, they dont buy claybar, they dont buy good compound, they buy the cheapest wax possible, etc etc.

BUT, i would assume an Audi dealer would be a little different. It all depends though, if they sell high end new audi`s, like R8`s and such, or if they sell to year old used ones.

Dan