PDA

View Full Version : Some advice on buying a PC please?

Tempted2Speed
10-13-2010, 11:33 PM
Ok so Im new to detailing and Ive decided to buy a Porter Cable 7424xp. Ill only be using the PC for application of a sealant ie MPL or BFWD and a light polish ie 106FA or CG 3n Nano Polish(which I have right now). Also a backing plate and pads.

Im looking to only buy 3 pads or so since thats all I think Ill need, I also have 2 Durafoam 4" pads from CG

Any advice on what types of pads Ill need for what I said Ill be using them for? Looking to buy the Lake County ones from DetailedImage since thats where Im buying alot of other stuff from.

BigAl3
10-14-2010, 03:07 AM
there`s the 5.5" 7 pad combo (you`ll need a 5" DA backing plate) and you can pick which ones you want. three orange, three white, and a black would be a good start. you can never have enough pads and eventually pick up some more later down the line. note: the 5.5" black pad is on sale right now (ends 10/14) so you might want to pick up another...

Lake Country 5.5" Lake Country Pad Kit - 7x Pads | Detailed Image (http://www.detailedimage.com/Lake-Country-M7/55-Lake-Country-Pad-Kit-7x-Pads-P436/)

Columbus Day Weekend Sale 25% Off - Detailed Image (http://www.detailedimage.com/Sales/Columbus-Day-Weekend-Sale-25-Off-SP15/)

JohnKleven
10-14-2010, 07:45 AM
If you can afford it buy a cycle instead. You can do some correction work with it and it doesnt vibrate like the pc making your hands numb within a matter of minutes.

shadowstep
10-14-2010, 09:16 AM
You might want to get (5.5" CCS) 2-3 Orange pads, 2-3 White Pads, and 2-3 Black Pads. The blue and red pads are nice for LSP because they are softer and have no cutting properties. But the quantities of the three color pads I mentioned should suffice doing an entire car IMO.

Tempted2Speed
10-14-2010, 01:23 PM