PDA

View Full Version : which glaze before Meguiars #26?

brett3xx
10-10-2010, 01:40 PM
Hey guys Im pretty new to detailing, so I could use some advice. Im using meguiaras #105, 205, followed by #26, and Im wanting to buy a glaze to use before the wax. I was originally going to get M#7 but after reading how it can be difficult to use, Ive decided to go with something else. Ive read alot of good things here about DWG and Clearkote RMG. Im wanting something that isnt color specific, but There are just so many options. I appreciate any advice you can throw my way. Also how do you like the M26? I just got it and havnt had a chance to use it much. Thanks

akimel
10-10-2010, 02:13 PM
#7 isn`t difficult, as long as one applies it thin and removes it immediately. Meguiar`s users have been using it forever. Like all products, one just needs to learn how to use it properly.

brett3xx
10-10-2010, 02:17 PM
Would M#3 be any easier than #7? Also I keep reading great things about RMG, where is the best best place to purchase this product from, I normally buy from autogeek, but they dont list it.

akimel
10-10-2010, 02:41 PM
I haven`t tried it, but from what I have read, the easiest of Megs` glazes to use in all environments is #5 New Car Glaze.

Dubbin1
10-10-2010, 02:41 PM
If you`re correcting the paint then you will get nothing out of using a glaze.

akimel
10-10-2010, 02:45 PM
If you`re correcting the paint then you will get nothing out of using a glaze.

Perhaps ... but there are others who swear they see a difference: see, e.g., SuperBee`s article "Revisiting an old enemy (http://www.autopia.org/forum/car-detailing-product-discussion/117420-revisiting-old-enemy-megs-7-a.html)."

Accumulator
10-10-2010, 03:50 PM
IME:

- some paints really respond to those Meguiar`s "Pure Polishes" (i.e., glazes), but others simply don`t. Won`t know until you try.

- #5 is easiest to use, #3 and #81 and Deep Crystal Step #2 Polish are all pretty similar (and easier), #7 is the trickiest.