PDA

View Full Version : Detailing question

adec
01-25-2006, 08:01 PM
Howdy. I am new to dc and have a question. I recently purchased a 2006 magnetic black 350Z. Last week I decided to do my first wash, clay and Zaino. After reading through the forums, I went out and bought the best OTC detailing supplies I could get, `cause if I had ordered through the net the products would`nt have come in time to catch the good weather. Anyways, I purchased Meguiars gold class microfiber drying towels and finishing towels, along with some vroom sheep skin mitts. I took all my finishing supplies to a local self wash during the middle of the week and went to work. Instead of two bucket wash method, I used six buckets. Then I grabbed what I THOUGHT was the mothers QD spray and starting to clay (used the mothers kit and was my first time doing this). Thought something was odd cause it wasn`t slick. Turned out I was using a quick WAX spray instead of the QD. Luckily I only had finished the front bumper. Anyways, I finished the claying with the correct lube. After washing the second time and drying, I pulled the car into the sunlight and guess what I noticed. Swirls, Marring and light scratches all over the car! Didn`t have a choice but put 2 coats of zaino and call it a day. What a friggin disaster!!!
Now here`s my question. One, did I do any damage to the bumper clearcoat not using the correct lube? Two, how do I get rid of the LIGHT swirls, marring, and scratches? From what I`ve read SSR1 seems to be the correct choice. Just worried if it will be abrasive enough or how about optimum or Menzerna FPII. I don`t have any experience with these products and will probably be doing this by hand. Need to get at least the hood and bumper done soon so I can get a clear bra installed.
By the way, the 350Z has a @###@ paint job. When I inspected the paint in direct sunlight, there was orange peel all over the car. NO areas without the peel.

thanks and looking forward to the responses