PDA

View Full Version : repainting metal fireplace - help please

jedovaty
08-06-2010, 11:02 AM
Hey,

Need advice. Am I doing this right? Everything`s based on research I found on google, I have NO experience painting (did my closet a few months ago, but it was the gf who did most of the work).

I`m trying to repaint my 30 year old "designer" fireplace made from metal. I treated it with Naval Jelly to get rid of the rust waited a week for it to dry, I sprayed it with high-temp primer (got it at an auto parts store) and let it cure for a week, then attempted to paint (with a roller and brush, oops) with the rust-oleum bbq paint. That was a mistake - should have used either a foam brush or better yet, just spray paint. It looks terrible, brush strokes, drip lines, etc. Additionally, I decided to try to cut out one of the fake-wood-frames, which, long story short, ended up with a few deep scratches/gouges into the back of the fireplace.

Thinking "autopia", I bought a sanding block and some wet/dry sand paper (the hardware store recommended 220 and 420 grits). Soaked the paper for 30 minutes in luke-warm water, then sanded down most of the fireplace with ONLY the 220 sand paper - the brush strokes are gone, it feels very smooth, but everything looks splotchy - primer showing through some areas and not others.

My next/final step was to spray paint the whole thing.

Am I doing this right? I don`t want it shiny, so after the spary painting, I do not plan on hitting it by hand with autopian polishing stuff - that would be real nasty, it`d have to be by hand since it`s a very small fireplace and I wouldn`t be able to fit the PC in there.

Ideally I`d like to take the whole thing apart and apply the paint while the parts are horizontal, but that`s far beyond my skill so I`m doing this with some vertical surfaces, etc.

Thanks for any input!

Accumulator
08-06-2010, 11:09 AM