PDA

View Full Version : My first time ...

ap300c
08-02-2010, 11:43 AM
After buying everything I thought I needed, and reading the forums for a few weeks for encouragement, I finally did my first full detail utilizing my Griots Garage machine. Here is how it went, step by step.

1. Clean it. Pretty basic, used some Meguiars wash I had, california blade followed by yellow microfiber towel from Target. I probably should pick up some of the waffle towels for the future.

2. On to the clay. I used the DI Gentle Fine Grade clay with Poorboys`s S&W. The claying went well, I kept the surface very lubricated but needed to go over a few areas more than once. The rear end and trunk were especially difficult to get a nice smooth finish. I used much more pressure than earlier and went over each section twice.

3. Polish try. After reading about the Meguair`s 105 dusting and the challenges of being a newbie, I thought I would give the pain a go with 205 and a LC white pad. Easy on, easy off, but looking closely could still see some swirl marks. Attempt failed, on to the 105.

4. Bring on the 105. Starting with a small area to work in, prime the pad LC Orange pad, small amount of product ... off we go, as in everywhere. Too much product and a soaked pad results in 10 minutes of cleanup. After that, it went well. I would hit the pad with a small spray of M34 every third section, the sections where I used too much material would be more difficult to remove, but overall not bad. The swirls and scratches were nearly gone.

5. Next step, 205 with a white pad. Before starting, I went over the finish with Meguiar`s Ultimate Detailer to remove any dust I missed. The 205 went on easily and came off just as easy. I was doing larger sections and felt like I was making good progress. There was a nice deep shine to the finish, I am happy! Unfortunately, I had now spent most of the day working on the car. off to bed and a fresh start in the morning.