PDA

View Full Version : Stupid newbie here.

Liquid_Table
07-24-2010, 11:51 PM
So I finally mustered the time and energy to go after my A6. Black clear coat is a real pain to maintain and neither I nor the previous owner seemed to have much time to do so. My paint is a mess of swirls and scratches and generally looks like hell.

So today I went after it in the following fashion:

Wash

Clay

Pre-Wax cleaner

Clay

Polish

Glaze

Wax

I am using my PC 7424 with a 5" backing flex plate, 5.5" Lake Country orange Smart Pad with Meguiars M105 and a Green Pad with M205. After polishing on the hood for the better part of an hour today I think it is worse off than when I started and I am at a loss as to why.

The M105 really didn`t do much to remove any of harder scratches. It did get the swirls, but only after a lot of elbow grease with the PC at setting 5 to 5.5. After that I finished up with the M205 and when I thought I rid myself the haze and holograms I called it good.

It looked fine under normal garage light. But in the unforgiving glare of my halogen work light it looks absolutely terrible. Scratches and swirls galore. I don`t know how the hell this happened. Some of the scratches are obviously swirls from before and some look like micro-marring from the buffter but a lot of them are vertical as well. Basically it looks like someone took a wire brush to the clear coat. What the hell could cause that?

http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/2801/dsc1869z.jpg

The paint looks like ****. I am wondering how the hell can it still look like that after so much polishing? Did I make a mistake? Do Audi`s just have REALLY HEARD clear coat? What`s going on here? I`m really at a loss and I am pretty sure the whole thing looks worse than when I started. I am especially confused since the 105/205 combo had such excellent results on my friend`s F150.

sacdetailing
07-25-2010, 09:39 AM