PDA

View Full Version : New vehicle, new leather - Advice

Pages : [1] 2

jabber
06-08-2010, 10:06 PM
I recently purchased a new Mitsubishi Outlander and want to preserve its condition as best I can. I am new to detailing and have been reading a lot on here about what to do. The one thing I am still confused about is the leather.

From what I understand, I don`t really need to condition my leather seats, I just need to keep them clean and maybe protect them. Can anyone offer advice on this. I understand water-based protectors are best. I have seen a lot of mention of Lexol and Leatherique, but these seem to be conditioners and not protectors.

I have added a picture of the seats, in case that helps. I like the matte look of the seats and don`t really want them greasy or shiny. There is also some perforated leather on the seats, does this need special treatment? Also, parts of the dash and door trim is "leather" as well, though I assume this is actually vinyl. Any recommendations on protecting this?

Thanks for any help you can offer!!

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b81/jabber_focus/Outlander/IMG_2116.jpg

judyb
06-08-2010, 11:21 PM
Leather does not require `conditioning` with anything other than water.

Keep your leather clean by protecting it with a leather protector and then regular cleaning.

Adding `conditioners` which generally contain oils and waxes will change the appearance of your leather over time as dirt will build up on the surface and cause a sheen.

Using the correct care methods and products will not alter the factory finish.

Your type of leather is `coated` leather. This is essentially a `painted` leather with a clear coat finish over the top. The leather may or may not be dyed through with aniline dyes prior to the finish coating.