PDA

View Full Version : Hand polishing chip repairs?

zeenon53
05-25-2010, 07:46 PM
There seems to be way more product than I can remember since the last time I really detailed a car. My plans are to give my 09 bmw a full detail. I just received the car a month ago from the dealership and the paint is in really good condition with minimal swirl marks and water spots so no major cutting is necessary. There is one nasty rock chip on the hood which will be repaired as well. I have no experience with repairing chips so I just plan on filling it and detailing over it, no wet sanding. Everything will be done by hand. All I want to do is fill in the chip a little to hide it. The chip doesn`t have to be perfectly blended in. Can I get by w/o a buffer?

The product lineup I have chosen is:

zaino z-18 clay

1Z einszett Paint Polish `Lack Politur`

zaino z-2

P21S Concours - Look Carnauba Wax

I didn`t know I had any z-2 left when I ordered the 1Z and P21S products, so I figured it would go to good use before the wax. I also still have some zaino grand finale spray but i`m not sure where to use that in this mix.

Car:

http://i726.photobucket.com/albums/ww261/mitchg53/BMW/BMW3.jpg

BostonDuce
05-26-2010, 06:41 AM
Depending on how big your chip is, you may be able to get by with just the color fill, otherwise you will need to put the clear coat on. In the `old days` touch up sticks were single stage paint sticks, and you could bring up the gloss on the repair, now you really need the clear coat step that comes with the factory touch-up paint to make it shine.