PDA

View Full Version : Why me? F...ing Makita!

Danspeed1
05-14-2010, 01:40 AM
I am not a professional detailer by trade, however I have been told I turn out professional work. I am tight on cash so I decided after people keep asking me to detail their cars, that I would do 3 "vehicle restorations" this week. Tall order for even a pro. 1/2 way though the first job the cord on my Makita Rotary breaks. You know, i am really kind of pissed! I know alot of you guys on here have had your Makita`s for 20+ years without a single issue but this is my 3`rd year with it, and it has maybe 25 cars on it, and its looser than my ex-girlfriend the f...ing cord is now broken.

Anybody know where I can get this thing fixed quick??? Otherwise I am really screwed!

Please help,

P.S. I am located in Orange County, New York

DG

salty
05-14-2010, 01:48 AM
Just rewire a new one. Open up the Makita and you`ll see it is that easy. Find a heavy duty old cord or buy a short new one.

MrCLRider
05-14-2010, 03:55 AM
I`m with salty, open that ***** up and show it who`s boss.

alwaysbored786
05-14-2010, 06:44 AM
hopefully you can get this fixed asap. I can understand your frustration; it must be nuts for your main machine to go bad on a full on job. It`s always good to have a backup machine when taking on pro jobs. Ill be doing a full detail this week for a customer and im also not a pro (just a 19 year old), therefore i dont have a backup machine either :(

Im gonna wait for the write up now :D. Best of luck and I hope everything works out!

David Fermani
05-14-2010, 07:03 AM
Just buy an extension cord @ Home Depot and wire it in. No big deal really. The factory Makita cords blow and don`t last.

swan
05-14-2010, 07:13 AM
I have dealt with Makita power tools for the last 10 years and it was never a matter of if the cord would break, it was when it would break.

Never roll the cord tight so there is tension on the cord coming out of the tool.