PDA

View Full Version : Experienced detailer looking for guidance…why is this happening? (Many pics)

Pages : [1] 2

Downgear
04-28-2010, 09:17 AM
Experienced detailer looking for guidance…why is this happening? (Many pics)

I have been detailing cars for over 10 years and have used countless products and methods. I can achieve the perfection I desire in the end however I believe my clay bar methods possibly need some help.

These pictures are from my last big detail session over a year ago:

I have perfected my wash technique with constant foam gun pressure, two buckets and both boars hair and sheepskin mitts.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4033/4560158773_b57740e0e5.jpg

The following pics were taken after the car had been through a very rough Canadian winter and almost weekly washes over the course of a year. As you can see the swirls are VERY minimal on this super soft black paint…the car is still less swirled than 95% of the cars out there!

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3009/4560158551_185b2c21b5_b.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3174/4560787580_8cb75efda4_b.jpg

Getting the car ready for polish and checking paint.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3133/4560788046_1186c2fb57_b.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3076/4560159099_cda33e8150_b.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3437/4560159029_02ba56aa3f_b.jpg

This is where the problem comes in and I NEED HELP!!!

I manage to make it through the entire year with so little damage to the paint and no matter how I go about claying my car, the following damage is created!

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4048/4560787770_616902a398_b.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3493/4560787714_d705a455b3_b.jpg

I don’t see how others claybar the car before every wax because basically if I clay my car, I must polish because it gets scratched up so badly. Here is my process: