PDA

View Full Version : Noob here, Brand new Black Benz, what now?

JamesAMG
04-02-2010, 09:25 AM
Hi all,

Although I joined this forum many many moons ago, I haven`t really posted as I didn`t have any real questions. Recently I purchased a new black benz and I want to do everything possible to take care of this car.

I`ve read most of the help guides but I don`t think there was anything specific about taking care of black paint and product recommendations.

Can you give me some recommendations on products that I should be using to keep this car in tip top shape?

Also, what are your opinions on using Rejex on a new car?

Thanks.

Accumulator
04-02-2010, 10:01 AM
JamesAMG- Welcome to Autopia!

I can`t help with the Rejex, but my advice is to concentrate on washing without instilling marring. And I`d really *study* the topic, learning how "swirls and spiderwebs" happen and why, and how to avoid that.

Don`t mar the paint and you`re 99% of the way home free.

Dirt is abrasive. It sticks to the paint. How do you detach it from the paint, and move it across/off the paint without allowing it to *scratch* the paint? Sounds simple...easier said than done though ;)

If any scratch is more than an inch or two long, you`re doing something very, very wrong.

Gee, hope the preceding doesn`t sound too :nono I approach it this way- clearcoat is clearcoat, having a black basecoat under it just means that any flaws will be pretty obvious. So avoiding those flaws would be my #1 priority. All the talk about "which wax for black"/etc. is kinda pointless in comparison (well, IMO at least).

craigdt
04-02-2010, 10:54 AM
^^ Accumulator is spot on.

If you can avoid marring, your job will be relatively simple.

Find yourself an LSP that you like, keep every thing clean and protected and your

Benz will last a long time.

And BTW, welcome to Autopia (even though you were here waaay before me)

ALAN81
04-02-2010, 10:59 AM
Can we see a picture of the car?

2005GTPinMD
04-02-2010, 11:28 AM