PDA

View Full Version : M205/Black Audi question

Furd
03-30-2010, 04:12 PM
I`m getting ready to work on my 2009 black Audi following the winter. There are some light swirls and fine scratches that I would like to polish out. (Most likely from poor technique while washing the car this winter in the unheated garage.)

I have some 205, which I plan to use with a white pad on a PC. I am somewhat concerned because this is my first time polishing an Audi, which I understand has a hard clear coat.

How much correction can I anticipate with that combo on the Audi? Assuming that its enough, will I have to follow with a finishing pad? If its not enough, would it be better to try something like Scratch-X on the white pad or use a different pad (like a green maybe) with the 205.

I suspect that it might be difficult to answer specifically without pictures. I`m just trying to get a handle on what I can expect.

Carticular
03-30-2010, 04:38 PM
I have a 2006 Brilliant black A4 and M205 does a great job and finishes LSP ready. It won`t take out scratches but handles swirls and spiderwebs very well. I used M205 on a 5.5" white LC pad via a Porter Cable.

gmblack3
03-30-2010, 05:36 PM
Do you have any orange pads? They work great with 205 and can still finish out very well on harder clears. You can go 205/white after if yoou want.

See my sig. 205 has the same pad priming steps as 105, 205 is just much easier to work with.

Furd
03-31-2010, 08:51 AM
Do you have any orange pads? They work great with 205 and can still finish out very well on harder clears. You can go 205/white after if yoou want.

See my sig. 205 has the same pad priming steps as 105, 205 is just much easier to work with.

Thanks. I do have some orange pads.

I`ll think that I`ll polish a relatively small area with a white and bump it up to an orange if necessary.

Accumulator
03-31-2010, 10:23 AM