PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Newb Polishing an Rx8 with a DA Tomorrow

Nopstnz8
12-27-2009, 08:38 PM
Hey I was wondering if you could help answer a few questions for a detail I plan to do tomorrow? Anyways, I decided to finally purchase a Meg`s G110 V2 kit for Christmas and plan to start using it tomorrow. I have never used a buffer before (in this case, a DA), but have done a lot of research on how to use them. My 8 is Titanium Gray, so I know that it is obviously much harder to see swirls in than red. I purchased a set of 1000W halogens to see them easily. but want to know if they will need to be used during the entire time I polish, or I can just use my overhead garage lighting, and then inspect with the halogens after polishing each section? I just don`t want to use up that much electricity if I don`t have to.

Also, I have a few questions about the polishing process on this car since it has many curves. Basically what I have been reading says that you are supposed to work the polish in completely using a figure-8 pattern. I know this won`t be very hard to do on the hood, or on flat areas, but what about the areas where there is not very much room for the buffer to do this, such as the pillars, the part of the fenders that is above the wheel arches, the mirror covers, and parts of the rear bumper that are narrow and horizontal? I just don`t want to royally screw this up. Lol. I did read that you don`t really have to follow the figure 8 pattern, but just make sure you work the polish in evenly in over the area you are working? So would this mean that I could just go in a slow back and forth motion across the area until it is fully worked in?