PDA

View Full Version : Paintless Dent repair on Aluminum panels

Lou K
11-01-2009, 11:25 AM
Someone opened the door and hit the front quarter panel on my wife`s car. The doors, front fenders, hood and trunk lid are aluminum. Will PDR be able to remove the door ding on her car. I have heard that it will not work on aluminum panels and I certainly do not want to have it filled and re-painted.

Thanks,

lland
11-01-2009, 12:45 PM
I had PDR done on the aluminum fenders of my car and it turned out fine. Not big dents, though. My PDR tech didn`t mention aluminum being any different. I`d imagine it would be more dependent on the actual dents than the material. You may want to mention that the parts are aluminum in case your guy wants to attack it any differently.

Good luck.

LL

gdal
11-01-2009, 12:45 PM
I haven`t heard anyone perform any PDR on aluminum.

I used to work in the automotive stamping business and the only way aluminum could be repaired was using a DA (prior to the paint process). Not even the best repairman could repair a dimple the size of a pencil head using the tools PDR people use.

hopefully there`s someone here that can help you.

David Fermani
11-01-2009, 02:14 PM
I haven`t heard anyone perform any PDR on aluminum.

I used to work in the automotive stamping business and the only way aluminum could be repaired was using a DA (prior to the paint process). Not even the best repairman could repair a dimple the size of a pencil head using the tools PDR people use.

hopefully there`s someone here that can help you.

Welcome to the 21st Century Gianni! Alloy panels are very PDRable. It`s a mainstream repair process in the PDR world.

Barry Theal
11-01-2009, 02:25 PM