PDA

View Full Version : How to set up for touchless carwash?

proman3998
10-05-2009, 09:52 AM
I am trying to learn what equipment I need and how I would go about setting up a system in which I will touch the paint as little as possible when washing. So far from what I have researched I gather I would do something like the following.

Rinse with a PW, Foam, Rinse with a CR Spotless, Dry with a leaf blower. I am not sure if that is correct. Do I need any more equipment. I am still learning. Also, I know nothing about the PW`s. I am looking to spend around 350. What should I be looking for...there are a lot on craigslist but what psi and gpm should I be looking for in order to not damage my paint... i wanna be safe and not mess up my car. Any suggestions or resources so that I can learn more and make an educated decision.

Thanks.

StadiumDetail
10-05-2009, 10:05 AM
A good plan so far but have you considered Optimum No Rinse (ONR)? Generally there is a lot of road grime on paint that won`t come off with a foam and rinse, it requires agitation. ONR is as safe as you can get if used with a proper wash mit, run a search on the forum and read up a bit if you haven`t already it has been covered numerous times.

$350 is easily enough for a pressure washer. GPM is far more important than psi, the larger the gpm the better the rinse and 1500psi is more than enough power to blast anything off and all washers can do that pressure easily.

Gas generally has more GPM for the money, but they are loud. Electric as small/portable, quiet, but I personally don`t care for them as a regular everyday unit.

proman3998
10-05-2009, 11:52 AM
A good plan so far but have you considered Optimum No Rinse (ONR)? Generally there is a lot of road grime on paint that won`t come off with a foam and rinse, it requires agitation. ONR is as safe as you can get if used with a proper wash mit, run a search on the forum and read up a bit if you haven`t already it has been covered numerous times.