PDA

View Full Version : how to tackle foxbody red single stage paint?

Pages : [1] 2

The Enforcer
09-28-2009, 04:54 PM
im currently detailing a late 80s/early 90s foxbody mustang. the single stage red paint is faded to the point of ZERO reflection, and is even showing through in some spots on the bumpers. he just told me to do what i could with it. what would be my best bet at tackling this job? in my stash i have...

-M105, M205, M85 diamond cut, M3 glaze, M26 yellow wax, system one x3 polish

-edge pads (twistes wool, white, orange, blue, green, and yellow.

-rotary

given those products.....what process would you use? im not a newbie to this at all.....but the paint is so thin that i dont want to really experiement with a test spot.

The Enforcer
09-28-2009, 05:21 PM
forgot to add...theres no oxidation or deep scratches on the paint, its just lost its shine (all of it!). would i even need 105?

Cleaning Fool
09-28-2009, 07:56 PM
Single stage cleans up pretty easy, 205/white pad may be all you need to bring back the paint. Do a test spot and see.

imported_paintxpert
09-28-2009, 08:05 PM
Sound like this car needs a paint job. Once paint has FAILED to this degree even if you could shine it, once you get it back in the sun it will just fade back. Neglect is neglect. Ford paint from those years were among the worst of quality. GOOD LUCK start with something mild on the tops. Ben

imported_paintxpert
09-28-2009, 08:08 PM
Try to enrich it with carnuba and cleaner such as speed bead from Stoner. Spray it on the WOOL PAD and have at it try 1200 rpms. Ben Moving to the next thread if you need advise email me paintxpert@gmail.com

The Enforcer
09-28-2009, 08:09 PM
105 wool/205 white did the trick, 205 wasnt enough....just not sure how long this shine is gonna last! all i have to seal it up and protect it is megs 26 yellow wax.....2 coats of this good enough for a few months?

Bobby G
09-28-2009, 09:12 PM