PDA

View Full Version : When do you know it`s good enough?

flash_e
09-11-2009, 08:53 PM
I am new to the whole detailing. I have a Flex xc and Menzerna polishes. I recently removed the swirl marks from my truck, which I was pleased with, and my father`s truck without clear coat. On my truck without clear I tried small areas with different pad/polish combination. I found that my orange/Menz Power Finish had the same results as the yellow/PF. My question is how do you know when you have the perfect combination. How do you tell that you have went too far? I know if you see scratching it is too aggressive but is that what needs to be done to remove oxidation? I always wonder can it be a little better? I know each situation is different but I have not been able to find this answer while searching. If anyone can provide a link or their comments it would be appreciated.

imported_detail1
09-11-2009, 08:59 PM
Trust me- start with the least aggressive pad and polish combo. Invest in a halogen light for inspection.

After each polishing step, use a soft, delicate MF towel with IPA to remove any oils. Then check for imperfections with the light.

U will need alot of time & patience.

JohnKleven
09-11-2009, 09:03 PM
You know it`s good enough, when you stop asking yourself that question.

John

flash_e
09-11-2009, 09:59 PM
Trust me- start with the least aggressive pad and polish combo. Invest in a halogen light for inspection.

After each polishing step, use a soft, delicate MF towel with IPA to remove any oils. Then check for imperfections with the light.

U will need alot of time & patience.