PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here just bought a Cadillac CTS-V!

Pages : [1] 2

Elonheater32
08-28-2009, 09:33 AM
Last week I picked up my baby, a 2005 Cadillac CTS-V in platinum silver!!! I have been wanting one for so long and I am excited to finally have her. After giving her a good wash (newbie wash), I knew that I had to give it a real wash, polish, and wax.

I used to frequent this forum, but never had a car worthy to do a great detail on. Now that I do, I need your help guys!

My friend gave me his porter cable so what I need are some pads, polish, and wax or sealant. Since I am a total newbie to a "real detail", I was hoping I could ask you guys what I need to buy since I am going to buy something today at autogeek.

I watched the video on how to use the porter cable and they were using Pinnacle XMT products and it looks rather easy to use and people on this forum have had great results using this product. Should I go with this?

Should I get the intermediate swirl remover kit or the light swirl remover kit. I think to get the BEST out of it I need the intermediate swirl remover kit, but I have heard that it takes the clear coat off and prevents the finish from looking so deep. The paint is in pretty good shape, so maybe I just need the light swirl remover kit, but at the same time this car is 4 years old.

Also, as far as pads go...... will I be okay with the Dual Action Deluxe CCS Foam Pad Kit which only gives me one pad of each color or do I need more than one pad or will one pad be just fine for the car?

I am nervous about taking the porter cable onto my new baby, but I think I`lll do a good job.

Thanks guys!!!

Elonheater32
08-28-2009, 10:30 AM
I am very anxious to order the stuff today, so I can do a detail asap, but I want to get some feedback from you guys before I pull the trigger on the purchase!!!!!

KnuckleBuckett
08-28-2009, 11:14 AM
Clay first.

Have at least five of each color. Orange, white, black/gray.