PDA

View Full Version : New Guy

GMUross
11-24-2005, 01:36 PM
New to the forum my name is Ross and I`m a college student looking to start my own detailing business. Any advice for a new comer is more than welcome let me know anything that can help me out.

cwcad
11-24-2005, 01:37 PM
Search the website for insight, read and learn!

Welcome to DC!!

jaybs02
11-24-2005, 01:53 PM
http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/html/emoticons/WELCOME.gif Ross,
If you search through the Professional section you will find plenty of good information, also if people know where you are from it helps with things that are more specific to your region.

Glad you found us

Happy Thanksgiving
"J"

GMUross
11-24-2005, 03:12 PM
Thanks so far everyone is very nice here. I am located in the D.C. NoVa area and I am a student as George Mason University. I am doing this with a fraternity brother of mine who worked for a detailer in the past. We will be splitting the cost of the start up. I would like to keep the cost of the start up below 800 between the two of us is this possible? What is the best way to get started I have seen several products companies selling packages and the rights to use their products is this a good way to go? If I am asking too many questions please tell me I have been surfing the forum as I have just joined today and already I have learned a lot but not that much about how to get started.

Happy T-day to everyone out there
Ross

Brenton
11-24-2005, 04:11 PM
Hey Ross, welcome. I`m Brenton from PEI.
Advice-wise, I`d say:
1. Find someone`s garage you could rent space from if you are starting in the Winter.
2. Do free cars.
3. Don`t rely on it as income for awhile.
4. Get the best product you can afford.
5. Make sure your town has room for you.

Hawaiianelement
11-24-2005, 04:46 PM
My advice is don`t buy too much of any product at 1st. You don`t want to find out there`s something better out there and you`re stuck with a bunch of product you already paid for.