PDA

View Full Version : Should I settle on one product family?

jackson
08-12-2009, 02:15 AM
I am a newbie to proper detailing. Previously I used to use TurtleWax then Meguiars and I thought I was "there" already.

Then I discovered the world of real proper car detailing. Then I went on a buying spree and educating myself on the capabilites and results that the product might bring. So, I purchased from Optimum and Duragloss and Lake Country.

My question is, I used to be a one product family kind of person. Now, I have all sorts in my stable. Should I decide on either Duragloss or Optimum? I have car washes but not ONR and spray waxes from both companies. Plus DG I have the 105 and 501.

Setec Astronomy
08-12-2009, 05:07 AM
Why limit yourself to one product line? There are many good ones, but hard to imagine one where every product is the best of its type. The only reason I can think of to limit yourself would be some supplier relationship you want to cultivate by buying everything from him, like "hey buddy, if I promise to buy all of my detailing products from you, and no one else, will you give me a discount?"

Jokeman
08-12-2009, 06:51 AM
Don`t limit yourself. There are tons of good products out there from all sorts of vendors.

jackson
08-12-2009, 07:29 AM
setec, i guess you are partially right with that reason.

on second thought, yeah. why limit myself. not EVERYTHING from one vendor is good. but then if i open to the thought of getting stuff from other vendors too, then it`ll open the floodgates for a newbie like me who is serious about expanding his knowledge, hopefully skills too, in car detailing.

now starting to have thoughts of trying/getting stuff from Finish Kare, Menzerna, Poor Boys, Chemical Guys.....

CocheseUGA
08-12-2009, 07:35 AM
setec, i guess you are partially right with that reason.