PDA

View Full Version : Best Leather Cleaner

Pages : [1] 2

killerGLI
07-07-2009, 10:38 AM
Hey everybody, I have been cruising around the site for a while but just recently became a member. I am relatively new to detailing but have a little experience. My one major problem is that when I try to clean the leather, it doesnt seem to get as clean as I would like. What do you professionals do to get really soiled leather clean? I use Lexol cleaner, but it doesn`t seem to do very much. What do you all suggest I do and is there another process/product I should be using? :think:

Also, I have been wondering if it would be worth it to buy M105 and M205. I am currently using Swirlx and 3M Rubbing Compound. Would it make a big different or be easier to do corrections with M105 and M205? I have heard a lot of great things about these two, but they dont sell them in stores around here (Greenville NC) so I would have to order them. Oh yea and would it be worth it to buy a car jack and jack stands to clean rims in and out?

kaotikdt
07-07-2009, 11:02 AM
First of all hello and welcome, while I don`t consider an expert definitely hanging out I`ve learned a lot, and everyday i learn something interesting. As of your questions, I haven`t used Lexol so I really can`t tell you why you are not getting results. A lot of people use it so I assume you must be doing something wrong. The type of leather and your procedure plays a lot. At the moment I use Adam`s Leather and Vinyl, good stuff but I`m switching to Leather Master, Leatherique is a great product too (I`ve heard and seen) another product I`m soon to get.

For heavily soiled leather I use a brush in order to agitate the cleaner and help work it in. I suggest searching a little more, there are plenty of help here. Read through the professional before and after, great stuff there and always procedures done, that way you get an idea.