PDA

View Full Version : spray wax vs. QDs

2clueless
06-20-2009, 11:00 AM
Newbie here with a simple question. What`s the main difference in use and purpose between a spray wax like OCW and a QD like OID?

I just happened to be using OCW on my white BMW after every wash and I am ready for a new order. I started reading different forums and came across FK425, OID and a ton of other stuff. That`s when I realized that I was using a wax, while thinking that I was doing a QD as a final step. I guess no harm as the product is good. But now I`m completely confused.:think:

I realize that a spray wax is to protect and the QD is to make it shine (or something). But when do I use which and why? I would like that hard to attain on a white car "wet" look and protection between full professional details.

My car gets a professional correction/wax/seal a couple of times a year, but I hand wash it almost every week.

P21S gel for the wheels,

Adam`s or Meg`s Gold Class in the foam gun,

WW towel to dry it,

then I did OCW on a MF as a finisher.

.... any input?!

:thx

jDizzle
06-20-2009, 11:51 AM
sounds like your doing fine to me.. but to answer ur question. spray wax is supposed to be used on a clean car. QD(which contain lubricants to suspend dust and dirt) sprays can be used on a SLIGHTLY dirty or dusty car, removes stuff like dust and finger prints, some leave protection behind, some dont.. im not a fan of using QD`s to clean my car, id rather wash then spray wax, but thats just me. you`ll get lots of different opinions on this from everyone... if you want a wet look, try some s100 motorcycle wax. you can get it at harley davidson dealers.. its the wettest looking wax ive found, only lasts a couple weeks though.

2clueless
06-20-2009, 03:15 PM
Thanks jDizzle. I`ve read that people use QDs on a wet car after a wash, but before they dry it. What`s that all about?