PDA

View Full Version : What Product on thick GM leather(99 Trans Am)

Pages : [1] 2 3

Striker
05-31-2009, 11:26 AM
Hey guys,

I`ve been using Lexol so far but curious to try something else. The seats are in good shape, and this leather as many of you probably know is pretty thick and seems to be coated with something out of the factory.

It seems as everytime I apply Lexol, it doesnt penetrate all the way in there and just smears on the surface? I let it do its own thing and just sits there for a few days untouched because I dont drive the car that often.

Mark77
05-31-2009, 11:35 AM
Sounds like coated leather to me, it`s like a plastic protection on the real leather underneath. Keeping it clean is the most important thing IME. There are many posts here about the confusion how to keep coated leather clean and protected.

Striker
05-31-2009, 11:53 AM
To me, it seems like it is but I am no leather expert, im sure theres someone else on here with the same car that has this type of leather. As mentioned before, it seems hard to get the lexol to penetrate and do something. It may or may not be working but so far all it does it smear on the surface and I let it sit. As for keeping the seats clean, heres what they look like. (last years pic, but nothing has changed)

http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj168/StrikerWS6/IMG_0461.jpg

http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj168/StrikerWS6/16_Trans_Am_Driver_Seat1.jpg

Mark77
05-31-2009, 12:00 PM
They look really great for 10 year old seats, the entire interior looks like new, so you must be doing something right :)

Striker
05-31-2009, 01:47 PM
It really is, but the car is far from a daily driver. It gets driven only in the summer, if its not going to rain. No driving to work, no parking lots, movies, dinner etc. Just a cruiser. Thanks for the compliments!

However, I am debating on going with the leatherique twins (rejuvanating oil and the cleaner)

imported_detail1
05-31-2009, 01:58 PM